Centre for Internet & Society

This event was organised by Digital Empowerment Foundation, National Internet Exchange of India and Association for Progressive Communications at Mirza Ghalib Hall, SCOPE Complex, New Delhi from 9.00 a.m. to 2.30 p.m. on May 3, 2012. Pranesh Prakash participated as a speaker in the session on Access to Internet: Right to Information.

9.00 a.m. to 9.30 a.m.  (Registration)
9.30 a.m. to 11.00 a.m.

Inauguration & Plenary: Internet Rights, Accessibility, Regulation & Ethics

Introduction: Osama Manzar, Founder & Director, Digital Empowerment Foundation
Chair: Aruna Roy, Head, Mazdoor Kisan Shakti Sangathan (MKSS) & Member, National Advisory Council (NAC), Govt. of India
Co-Chair: Ajay Kumar, Joint Secretary, DIT, Govt. of India
Plenary Speakers:
  • Honey Tan, Human Rights Lawyer, Malaysia, APC
  • Venkatesh Nayak, Co-convener, Secretary, National Campaign for Peoples’ Right to Information
  • Jitendra Kohli, Executive Member, Transparency International India Summary of the Session by the Chair
11.00 to 11.15 a.m. (Tea break)
11.15 a.m. to 12.30 p.m.

Working Session I - Access to Internet: Right to Information

Chairperson: Basheerhamad Shadrach, Development Consultant
Plenary Speakers:
  • Pranesh Prakash, Programme Manager, Centre for Internet & Society
  • NA Vijayashankar, E-Business Consultant, Founder Secretary of Cyber Society of India, Founder Trustee of International Institute of Information Technology Law
  • Pavan Duggal, Advocate, Supreme Court of India
  • Varsha Iyenger, Member, Centre for Law and Policy Research
  • Amitabh Singhal, Former CEO, National Internet Exchange of India (NIXI)
  • Prof Jagdeep Chhokar, Founding Member, Association for Democratic Reforms
12.30 p.m. to 1.30 p.m.
Working Session II - Internet Right as Human Right: Need for a Holistic Framework towards Universal Access in India
Chairperson: Dr. Govind, CEO, National Internet Exchange of India (NIXI), Govt. of India
Co-chair & Moderator: R. Sukumar , Managing Editor, Live Mint Newspaper
Panel Members:
  • Subho Ray, President, Internet & Mobile Association of India (IMAI)
  • Deepak Maheshwari, Vice President - Public Policy, South Asia, MasterCard
  • Ravina Agarwal, Program Officer, Ford Foundation
  • Honey Tan, Human Rights Lawyer, Malaysia, APC
  • Suhas Chakma, Director, Asian Centre for Human Rights
  • Anoop Saha, Co-Founder, CGNet Swara
  • Shivam Vij, Writer, Kafila.org
Click to see the original