# F.NO. 13040/47/2011-CIT&I Planning Commission (CIT & I Division)

YojanaBhawan, SansadMarg

New Delhi

Dated: 26<sup>th</sup>December, 2011

#### **OFFICE MEMORANDUM**

Subject: Constitution of Group of experts to deliberate on Privacy issues.

It has been decided to constitute a Small Group of Experts under the Chairmanship of Justice A.P. Shah, Former Chief Justice, Delhi High Court, to identify the privacy issues and prepare a paper to facilitate authoring the Privacy Bill. The constitution of the proposed group and ToR are as follows:

### 1. Constitution of the Group:

S. No	NAME& DESIGNATION	
i)	Justice A.P. Shah, Former Chief Justice, Delhi High Court	Chairman
ii)	Shri. R S Sharma, DG UIDAI	Member
iii)	Dr. Gulshan Rai, Director General CERT-In, DIT	Member
iv)	Sh. Rajiv Kapoor, JS, DOPT	Member
v)	Representative, Department of Legal Affairs	Member
vi)	Sh. Som Mittal, President, NASSCOM	Member
vii)	Ms. Barkha Dutt, NDTV	Member
viii)	Dr. (Ms) Usha Ramanathan, Researcher & Advocate	Member
ix)	Sh. PraneshPrakash, Programme Manager, Centre for Internet & Society	Member
x)	Dr. Kamlesh Bajaj, CEO, Data Security Council of India (DSCI)	Member
xi)	Dr. Nagesh Singh, Adviser, Planning Commission	Member
xii)	Sh. R K Gupta, Adviser (CIT&I), Planning Commission	Member

# 2. Terms of Reference

a. To study the Privacy laws and related bills promulgated by various countries.

- b. To make an in-depth analysis of various programmes being implemented by GoI from the point of view of their impact on Privacy.
- To make specific suggestions for consideration of the DOPT for incorporation in the proposed draft Bill on Privacy.
- 3. The Chairman may co-opt other Members to the group for their specific inputs.
- 4. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the Group in respect of the official members will be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. Domestic travel in respect of non-Official Members of the group would be permitted by Air India (economy class) and the expenditure would be met by the Planning Commission.
- 5. The group will be serviced by the CIT & I Division, Planning Commission.
- 6. The group shall submit its report by 31<sup>st</sup> March 2012.

(S Bose

Under Secretary to the Government of India

To:

# The Chairman and all Members of the Group of Experts

#### Copy forwarded to:

- 1. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 2. PS to MOS (Planning, PA, S&T and ES), Planning Commission
- 3. PS to all Members of the Planning Commission
- 4. PS to Member Secretary, Planning Commission
- 5. Director (PC), IFA unit, Deputy Secretary (Admn.), Planning Commission
- 6. Administration/Accounts/General Branches, Library, CIT & I Division, Planning Commission
- 7. Information Officer, Planning Commission

(S Bose)

Under Secretary to the Government of India